Planning to build an RTK rover for 3D scanning.....help?

Hi, I just have a few questions and I’m hoping I can get some answers here. Disclaimer: I’m a newbie in this field so please bear with me :sweat_smile:

1. What would be the best components to put together to be able to build an RTK rover that we can connect to a smartphone and use for 3D scanning?

2. If we were to create our own 3D scanning app, how difficult is it to integrate the positioning data from the RTK rover with the 3D scans captured by the mobile scanning app?

3. Would you know any 3D scanning mobile apps that are available and able to integrate the RTK positioning data?

Thanks!

Hey samruru,

No worries, everyone is a newbie at some point! One thing I would suggest is that you build a list specific constraints:

How fast will this device travel? How good to you need the accuracy to be? How are you going to get RTK corrections to the device? Do you want to hook it into an existing system? Do you want something that works out of the box? Having a list like this will help you narrow down on which device to use.

We have a lot of content that can help you learn more about this subject, and maybe give you some ideas to get you started!

https://www.sparkfun.com/news/tags/rtk

1) What would be the best components to put together to be able to build an RTK rover that we can connect to a smartphone and use for 3D scanning?