stronger rfid receiver

I recently bought the Artemis Nano and RFID QWIIC Kit that has the 12LA receiver. This has worked great for a proof of concept for my project. It would work perfect for the whole project except I need a stronger receiver (1-2ft range).

I was looking at the UHF RFID (TNC) antena (WRL-14131).

Is there a way to attach this to the Artemis Nano? or what board do I need? I see the M6E Simultaneous read board but it’s a big price jump and I don’t need to read simultaneously for my project. I just need a little more range 1-2ft max. I want to put a card on the bottom of a cart and then as the cart rolls over the receiver, embedded in the ground, it will scan.

I’m just learning arduino coding so trying to keep it simple.

Thanks,

Hylan

Hello Hylan - I’m not super familiar with the product but it does not appear to have any way to attach an external antenna. This would mean upgrading to the M6E if you want to use the TNC antenna. I will ask someone with more experience to chime in here as well.

Hello @Hylan!

Welcome to Arduino btw! So to begin the antenna you linked is for high frequency RFID. “UHF” RFID stands for Ultra High Frequency RFID which uses radio frequencies between 902-928MHz -that’s “Mega” - Hertz. This is in stark contrast to the much lower frequency of the RFID reader of the Qwiic Kit - 125kHz - that’s “kilo” Hertz. So unfortunately they are not compatible because that antenna is tuned for much higher frequencies. Unfortunately the range of ID-12LA, the little black box that serves as an antenna and decoder, is small as you’re post states. I have not read about alternative RFID solutions at this lower frequency that have better range. That doesn’t mean they don’t exist but unfortunately SparkFun does not provide any. Let me know if you have any additional questions.