WAV trigger - struggling to connect to arduino uno

hello and thanks in advance for any help!

I am struggling to connect my WAV trigger to my arduino uno. I am new to electronics and don’t want to destroy the board.

CONTEXT

I want the system to work so that people can build a soundscape by walking around a series of distance sensors. I have 3 sensors, labelled orange, pink and blue. For example, when someone stands close to the orange sensor it should play a bird sound. When they move away from the orange sensor it should stop playing this sound or play a different sound. Each sensor has 3 it’s max distance divided into 3 parts.

For arguments sake;

1m away - bird song

2m away - river sound

3m away - wolf cry

THE QUESTIONS

In summary my questions are;

1. do I need an int file?

2. how do I connect my wav trigger to my arduino uno (I have a written a proposal below)

3. if I am storing sounds on the micro SD and using input from ultrasonic sensors connected to the arduino do I need to pay attention to the section of the user guide ‘hardware interface’? (details pasted below)?

HARDWARE SETUP

I have 3 ultrasonic sensors connected to an arduino uno.

In front of each sensor;

I have divided up the space into 3 chunks according to distance and labeled these s, m, L (the distances are in the code)

For arguments sake each sensor is set up in the following way;

1m away (s) - bird

2m away (m) - river

3m away (L) - wolf cry

the sensors are called orange, pink and blue

I have a WAV trigger - robertsonics - which is working correctly.

SOFTWARE

Before I go further I am only trying to get one sound to play. The other tracks are commented out until I can get one to work. I also know the code I currently have isn’t going to work as I hope. But I am getting help on another forum for those details. My purpose here is just to get the wav trigger to work with the arduino and be triggered at least once by a signal from a sensor.