Which Way?

Hi.

I am both new to electronics and to this Forum. I am a retired Mechanical engineer, I am 72 years old, so learning Electrics/ Electronics does not always come easy to me.

While in lock-down in the UK due to COVID 19, i have built a Weather Station using an ARDUINO UNO R3 Which displays date an a LCD from Temp, Humidity, Pressure, UV & LUX sensors. I am also creating my own web site which i hope eventually will turn into my weather station on line, but how to do this is the question.

There are so many good ideas out here just by Googling Personal Weather stations, this is where my confusion starts. I am looking for a mentor/ teacher to guide me through this project, being a retired person, living off a pension, i cannot afford to get things wrong by buying the wrong equipment.

I have read about using ESP32 or using NRF24LO1 with Arduino, but i cannot decide which way, of course there may be another, which is why i am asking for help on this forum, i look forward to your communications, and i hope i have used the correct forum for this question

Regards

Ray

I’m tempted to suggest a Raspberry Pi Zero W, though that somewhat depends on your computer background. (If you’ve only [been ab]used [by] Micro$oft Windoze, you’ll find Linux somewhat difficult, but if you have been exposed to any variation of Unix, e.g., CAD systems running on Sparcstations, you should have an easier time of it.) The “upsides” of the Zero W is that it’s $10 (plus some accessories, like a power supply [an old phone charger with microUSB connector will work], and an HDMI cable with a micro-HDMI connector on one end to connect it to your TV, and a uSD card), and despite the low price, it is a “full blown” computer and has WiFi built in (though it’s pretty sluggish doing things like graphics). One thing to be aware of is that the RPi’s are all 3.3V systems and the pins are NOT “5V safe”, and the Uno is a 5V system, so you’ll need a level shifter board to translate between them.