Why do (many) Engineer's hate Arduino?

Everywhere I have worked (except Specialized), Engineer’s choose to hate the Arduino platform.

They toss it off as a toy, and say it is nothing more.

I got my degree in Computer Science and now my job title is Electrical Engineer, thanks to the Arduino platform.

It bugs me greatly that when I talk to other Engineer’s about Arduino, they disregard it. Then they spend months of company engineering time, reinventing the wheel…

The issue I have in these conversations is that I don’t know how to argue their points. What are people’s thoughts on this? Can the Arduino be used in a “professional” environment?

The best way is to make a whole bunch of stuff with Arduino and show them up!! I’m an old Motorola assembler guy from 1980s, graduated to Microchip PICs in last 10 years. But then I saw what Arduino could do and now I’m completing projects right and left. I’ve got robots, train layout, displays, all running on Arduinos, the quickest way to get something built. Now I’m putting Atmega chips right on my PCBs, knowing how they work with the UNO. I TOO thought Arduino was just for “kids” but scrapped all my PIC stuff and went full bore Arduino. Show those guys up. Build something.

Aaaah yes thank you for your input!! That’s awesome to hear.

As for making a project, I did (what I think) is a really cool one with this one here,

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=53464&p=217448&si … 2a#p217448

https://i.ibb.co/WWDgyLN/20200711-163233.jpg

I used Sparkfun’s Artemis board as the brain for my NixieTubeWatch that will allow me to extend functionality to make some really cool features!

Soldered it myself just fine too. It’s not a “product” though, so I feel undermined by that element.