Arduino Project with spark fun WRL-11812 and Xbee S2C #602-1858-ND

Okay guys I hope this is allowed here. It’s my 1st post and is about a project. I’m a rookie with this programming and component selection. There’s not a lot in the search results for how to link the arduino with the spark fun WRL-11812. Here’s a step-by-step outline of what I am trying to accomplish.

I want to program the xbee with spark fun WRL-11812 and then leave it on a breadboard as a “hat” on an arduino. The arduino and WRL-118212/Xbee will remain on the bread board and be linked together through the board and jumper wires. The purpose of the setup will be to fire an external relay. This relay will turn on a drier fan. This fan and relay are existing. This is a large 240VAC 70A fan. Today it’s triggered with a 120V signal being turned on through a regular 120 switch at 10-15A- nothing special. Here are the steps listed more explicitly and in a linear fashion:

1.) An Arduino powered with 7V 2A and Xbee with the WRL-11812 will be on a breadboard.

2.) At my choosing I will send a command from a home server from the signal xbee (SB) to the receiver xbee (RB).

3.) RB’s output pin can’t supply enough voltage to meet my relay’s minimum trigger voltage (3V) reliably from what I read, so I’ll use the Xbee’s max 2.7V output to send signal to an input pin on the arduino. When the arduino sees the input pin as HIGH it will then send a 5V output from another pin to my fan relay, and the fan will turn on. I will drop signal from the xbee from the same server when I want to turn the fan off.

4.) I would like to manage this through putty and openhabian via a raspberry pi home MQTT openhabian server. It would be ideal to be able to send this signal from the home raspberry pi/ openhabian server and openhabian app on my phone. The SB will be on a breadboard that has a 3V power supply on it that powers the Xbee. This SB is the inerface between the server and the RB- I think???