Connecting 9DoF Sensor Stick to Pro Micro 3.3v

Hi

I have a project I am playing around with where I would like to use an IMU with a Sparkfun Pro Micro. I have some experience with Arduino’s though I haven’t touched them in many years and am super rusty, and find myself stuck at the first hurdle!

I have a Sparkfun 9DoF Sensor Stick and a Sparkfun Pro Micro 3.3v which I am trying to get talking to each other. I am using the example code as shown below. I changed #define LSM9DS1_SCK from A5 to A3, and #define LSM9DS1_MOSI from A4 to A2, but apart from that have kept the code unchanged. When I run it I get the error - LSM9DS1 data read demo

Oops … unable to initialize the LSM9DS1. Check your wiring!

Not sure where I am going wrong and some help would be appreciated! When I run the original code on my RedBoard it works fine. Also when I run a simple LED Blink program on the Pro Micro it also works fine.

Thanks!

Moderator edit to add code tags

#include <Wire.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <Adafruit_LSM9DS1.h>
#include <Adafruit_Sensor.h>  // not used in this demo but required!

// i2c
Adafruit_LSM9DS1 lsm = Adafruit_LSM9DS1();

#define LSM9DS1_SCK A3
#define LSM9DS1_MISO 12
#define LSM9DS1_MOSI A2
#define LSM9DS1_XGCS 6
#define LSM9DS1_MCS 5
// You can also use software SPI
//Adafruit_LSM9DS1 lsm = Adafruit_LSM9DS1(LSM9DS1_SCK, LSM9DS1_MISO, LSM9DS1_MOSI, LSM9DS1_XGCS, LSM9DS1_MCS);
// Or hardware SPI! In this case, only CS pins are passed in
//Adafruit_LSM9DS1 lsm = Adafruit_LSM9DS1(LSM9DS1_XGCS, LSM9DS1_MCS);

void setupSensor()
{
  // 1.) Set the accelerometer range
  lsm.setupAccel(lsm.LSM9DS1_ACCELRANGE_2G);
  //lsm.setupAccel(lsm.LSM9DS1_ACCELRANGE_4G);
  //lsm.setupAccel(lsm.LSM9DS1_ACCELRANGE_8G);
  //lsm.setupAccel(lsm.LSM9DS1_ACCELRANGE_16G);

// 2.) Set the magnetometer sensitivity
  lsm.setupMag(lsm.LSM9DS1_MAGGAIN_4GAUSS);
  //lsm.setupMag(lsm.LSM9DS1_MAGGAIN_8GAUSS);
  //lsm.setupMag(lsm.LSM9DS1_MAGGAIN_12GAUSS);