GPS RTK Unit without base station

Hello,

I am creating a self-driving system that will be used in the field.

I want a GPS system that is going to give me cm accuracy, however, I want to do this without a base station.

I am looking at the “SparkFun GPS-RTK-SMA Breakout - ZED-F9P (Qwiic)”, however, I am not sure if I need another GPS unit with this to create a ‘moving base’, or if I can connect just to a GNSS network (am located in NZ) and gain cm accuracy with the readings coming from that?

I am new to the GPS world, so I am just wanting to get a good idea of how it all works.

Cheers

Welcome to the GPS/GNSS world! There is a lot to learn, like any new field, but it’s very doable with some time and effort.

I’ve had great success using SparkFun products both with a local base and using a network. I primarily use the Facet products in the US; I can’t speak to the specific board you are looking at, but they both use the same ZED-F9P processor and I would expect results to be similar. You’ll need a good GNSS antenna and, of course, solid network connectivity for your application. The ZED-F9P needs a decent (not perfect) view of the sky to get a good Fixed (cm) position solution. You’ll need to figure out, likely by experimentation, if the network available to you is sufficient for your needs. There are a number of approaches to streaming the network (RTCM) data feed to your GNSS receiver.

I’m a surveyor and I don’t work on self-driving systems, but my understanding is that “moving base” systems use a base & rover mounted on the vehicle to determine the vehicle’s orientation in space - that is determine a vector between the two units that are fixed to the vehicle. A fixed base system uses a base (network or your own base) fixed at known coordinates to determine the vehicle’s position in space.