Help desiphering the SparkFun_MMA8452Q_Arduino_Library

Hello All,

Can anyone explain to me how to use the standby() function of the SparkFun_MMA8452Q_Arduino_Library? I am trying to write to a specific register in order to enable transient acceleration detection and having no luck. I have researched online and watched several YouTube videos on Arduino libraries and nothing seems to apply directly to my case. Each library seems to have its own exceptions or special cases and I am new to using the higher functions of libraries.

Any help would be appreciated, my gut tells me that I am missing something fundamental.

<LINK_TEXT text="
https://github.com/sparkfun/SparkFun_M … _1.1.0/src">
SparkFun_MMA8452Q_Arduino_Library/src at V_1.1.0 · sparkfun/SparkFun_MMA8452Q_Arduino_Library · GitHub</LINK_TEXT>

Thanks,

-n

Hello nullset,

To ensure I’m following correctly, you’re asking about this snippet of code in the src files, correct?

// SET STANDBY MODE
//	Sets the MMA8452 to standby mode. It must be in standby to change most register settings
void MMA8452Q::standby()
[
	byte c = readRegister(CTRL_REG1);
	writeRegister(CTRL_REG1, c & ~(0x01)); //Clear the active bit to go into standby
]

* the [ ] brackets replace the curly brackets in this code. There is a small bug with PHP3 that doesn’t like curly brakets in the “code” snippets.

Just so that you are aware, we are unable to provide full support for custom code or modifications. However, I’ll try to help as much as I can.

Hello Brandon,

That is the code in question. I have since posting done more research and I believe that standby() is “private” and as such I cannot use this method from within my sketch? Is that correct? Ultimately, I need help determine how to configure transients so that I can de-couple gravity from my acceleration measurements.

Thanks,

-n