I suspect I got a bad display, or a bad cable, in my shipment

Hello,

I received my order today, which included the following:

SparkFun Qwiic OLED Display (0.91 in., 128x32)

LCD-24606 1

Qwiic Cable - 50mm

PRT-14426 1

SparkFun Thing Plus - ESP32 WROOM (Micro-B)

WRL-15663 2

I can power up both ESP32 boards, and run sketches - I can connect to wifi with them and connect them to my phone over bluetooth.

I cannot get either board to recognize the display.

Using the first example program from github (Hello), and defining the display as:

QwiicNarrowOLED myOLED;

I get the following output on the serial monitor, with either ESP32 board

Device begin failed. Freezing…

And nothing is showing up on the display.

I suspect either the display, or the cable is bad. I only have one of each, so I can’t easily troubleshoot further than that. Since I get the same output with either ESP32 board, I don’t believe either of those are the issue.

Also - FYI - I have been programming since 1980 (professionally since 1981), and programming embedded systems since 1983 (professionally since 1985). I’m not ruling out a rookie mistake, but I can’t figure out which one that would be right now.

I am running with the Arduino IDE on a Linux Mint installation (Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria). I use Linux exclusively, and do not have access to a Windows Machine. (The issue is between the board and the display, as far as I can tell, and not between the computer and the board).

Forgot to mention this:

In the IDE, I have the board selected as SparkFun ESP32 Thing Plus. I have tried some of the other variants selectable.

This is the full output:

rst:0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)

configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee

clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00

mode:DIO, clock div:1

load:0x3fff0030,len:1184

load:0x40078000,len:13260

load:0x40080400,len:3028

entry 0x400805e4

Running OLED example

Device begin failed. Freezing…