ICM-20948 Returning "Wrong ID"

Hi there! I’m running the “Example 1- Basics” code to test out my 9DOF IMU Breakout ICM-20948, but all it returns is “Initialization of the sensor returned: Wrong ID. Trying again…”.

Has anyone else had this issue and fixed it? I’m fairly new at this and not even sure where to start…

I’m running it on an Adafruit Feather M0 Basic Proto atsamd21

Thank you!

Hi! Welcome.

Can you share the details of your interface? Are you using I2C or SPI? The first thing to ensure would be that the pins are correctly connected

If you are using I2C: Since the Adafruit Feather M0 Basic Proto atsamd21 does not have a Qwiic connector there is a chance that you have swapped some pins around. You could try a few more Qwiic sensors (or other I2C sensors with example code) and see if they work. If those work while the ICM-20948 does not then the search will continue.

If you are using SPI the same idea applies but it just might be a little more of a hassle to swap in another sensor to test. Do you have the right Chip Select (CS, SS, etc) pin selected in code?

Hi,

I am also encountering this output.

I am using SparkFun 9DoF IMU (ICM-20948) Breakout and not able to get the SPI interface to work with UNO.

Uno to SPI Breakout Pins

Gnd - Gnd

3.3 - VIN; Tried 1V8-5V5 same

MOSI - 11

SCLK - 13

MISO - 12

CS - 2

Example 1

When I uncomment these lines(see below)

#define SERIAL_PORT Serial

#define SPI_PORT SPI // Your desired SPI port. Used only when “USE_SPI” is defined

#define CS_PIN 2 // Which pin you connect CS to. Used only when “USE_SPI” is defined

I get this repeating output.

21:12:05.431 → Initialization of the sensor returned: Wrong ID

21:12:05.431 → Trying again…

Can you tell what I am doing wrong. When I set it up for I2C it works as expected.

If you’re using SPI, there’s only onle line you need to change in the sketch.

The line, which says the below by default:

//#define USE_SPI // Uncomment this to use SPI

Needs to be changed too: