IMU to calculate XYZ coordinates in 3D - Survey tool

Hi,

I am looking to measure xyz co-ordinates (accurate to 1-2 centimetres) of each fixing point, of a new shade sail.

The device I aim to use is the Sparkfun 9DOF IMU.

From what I understand, as time goes on, errors result, and they build up pretty quickly unless I can use a GPS or some kind of filter…?

Just wondering if you guys could point me in the right direction… I am a mech engineer with a little experience with matlab and C++, not much else.

Is this a project I could follow along myself?

The time between measurements would be 30 seconds to 2 minutes, with the possibility to ‘‘zero’’ the z axis (vertical) using the ground, directly beneath each fixing.

There would be at most 6 fixing points to measure xyz data.

Thanks for your help in advanced, I will share results/failures as I go :slight_smile:

Hi Shadeform_Sails,

The [9DoF Razor could work for this application but will require processing the IMU data to get positional data. The stock [firmware only prints the calculated data from each of the sensors on the board. The firmware does calibrate the IMU for 8-seconds on powerup but you are correct, there will be some drift in the yaw data from the magnetometer. You can account for this by offsetting it in your code or you can use GPS data. Unfortunately, we do not have any documentation available to help you with that.

The [Using the MPU-9250 DMP Library section of the Hookup Guide will go over the various functions in our Arduino library you could use for this project.