RGB -illuminated rotary encoder - improper output

Dear,

I bought an Sparkfun RGB illuminated rotary encoder.

The encoder is connected as mentioned in the manual (fig.4) - means 4 x 10kOhm resistors and two capacitors.

Unfortunatly I only had 0,1yF capacitors instead of the 0,01yF in the manual. but I would assume that this is not a big deal.

The task for the encoder is that I can select an value between 0 and 180, so so every time you rotate the encoder clockwise, the value should be incremented and vice versa.

Sometimes the value will be changed by one if you rotate the encoder for one “click”, sometimes the value jumps multiple values (up to 100).

As I have no experience with encoders (and i don´t have an alternative product here), I attached the encoder to an oscilloscope.

The record was made rotating always one single step, short break, next rotation - I only rotated into one direction.

I attached three screenshots.

First one is what I expected an encoder should work - and this one does this sometimes

Second one shows that one output isn´t switching back, third one the same but in this one sometimes the encoder shows two peaks, even if just rotated one step.

Can anyone confirm that the behaviour recorded by oscilloscope is correct?

Then the problem is software related - otherwise I should buy some new the encoders.

Thank you very much in advance!

Just an additional information:

The ground from oscilloscope was connected to Terminal C of the encoder, the probe tip of channel A to Terminal A of encoder and probe tip of channel B to Terminal B

You need to debounce your inputs. The Sparkfun sample sketch for that device demonstrates one way to accomplish that. See https://github.com/sparkfun/Rotary_Enco … ncoder.ino. There are also many other examples and explanation on the web if you search on the word debounce or debounce rotary encoder.

Hello darrelg,

thank you for sending the link, in the meantime I implented the code to my project.