How do I get started if I want to avoid Arduino?

Hello,

I’m a CS student starting my learning path for embedded. While doing my research on where to begin everywhere Arduino is the most praised beginner tool. While I don’t have a problem with this, I would like to begin like developers would have 10 years ago - without arduino. I don’t want the luxury of Arduino IDE or a microcontroller like Uno.

In contrast I would more prefer learning something like RISC-V, ARM, x86, 8051 etc. For this approach where would I begin? Which chip would be best that is well documented?

Thank you.

Arduino has been around for ~15 years, so using one might very well suit your purposes…instead of using the Arduino IDE, you could use something more foundational, like AVR Studio to program the board.

Perhaps speak with your advisor on which path might yield the most fruit for your degree/education, and see what they have to say?

Don’t confuse hardware (type of processor) with programming languages or program development tools.

The Arduino IDE (Integrated Development Environment) is a simplified and rather limited set of program development tools based on the C/C++ programming language. It was developed originally to program the first Arduino boards, which were based on AVR microprocessors made by Atmel.

Since then different versions of the Arduino IDE have been created to work on many different types of microprocessors.

BastiColler:
Hello,

I’m a CS student starting my learning path for embedded. While doing my research on where to begin everywhere Arduino is the most praised beginner tool. While I don’t have a problem with this, I would like to begin like developers would have 10 years ago - without arduino. I don’t want the luxury of Arduino IDE or a microcontroller like Uno.

In contrast I would more prefer learning something like RISC-V, ARM, x86, 8051 etc. For this approach where would I begin? Which chip would be best that is well documented?

Thank you.