COM-14718 - RGB LED Matrix Panel - 32x64 - 75% Not Working

I purchased four COM-14718 - RGB LED Matrix Panel - 32x64 4mm pitch. Received 3 identical boards and one that was different. Only the one that was different works as expected. I’ve had some experience with these over the past couple of years and am planning to buy 15 or 20 more if I can be sure that I will receive boards that work correctly.

See video documentation of the issue here - https://youtu.be/yzMR9Wd5VW4

Strange; does it only happen while chained together or same behavior if only 1 is hooked up at a time?

I tested it both ways. I disconnected them from the chain for the video. I spent a few more minutes with them yesterday, swapping the ABCD lines around to see if it was just a couple lines swapped on the board, no luck. It seems like there are as many as 4! (24) unique permutations, maybe I’ll try them all. Either way, I’m going to have to RMA these 3, the project I’m working on will require 18 of them and I don’t particularly want to have to customize the code for bad panels mixed with good panels. I just want to make sure that sparkfun will be able to guarantee that I get 18 properly configured boards, if not, I’ll order from somewhere else.

It isn’t simply a matter of two of the data lines being swapped as I tested every combination of A, B, C, D. The panels are clearly wired incorrectly. How did these make it through quality control? :frowning:

/* Simple test sketch to evaluate RGB LED Matrix Panels with an ESP32. 
 * This sketch was developed because I received several 32x64 panels that
 * are miswired and I was curious if some of the A, B, C, D lines were
 * swapped and could potentially still be used with wiring and/or code changes.
 * written by dcamp 2023JAN10
*/
#include <RGBmatrixPanel.h>

// default pin mapping the ESP32_HUB75_LED_MATRIX_PANEL_DMA_Display

//#define R1  25
//#define G1  26
//#define B1  27
//#define R2  14
//#define G2  12
//#define B2  13

//#define A   23